A Weekend of Events

17 Nov
I just came from Journalism class. He started off by telling us to open the Boston Globe and find this article about Suffolk University

Its pretty interesting to know that our President is the higest paid in the country… although I’m sure there is more to the story than the globe gives, like the scholarship money he does give out, or that the money he donates to new buildings like the law school, dorms, etc…

In the past week we have talked about the Wilkerson case, and today we wrote a story about Jim Marzilli, a Senator who was charged with sexual assault and resigned on Friday.

I must admit that this class has made me read the news, which i can honeslty say I never did on a regular basis. My professor thinks that in only a few years, the only newspapers will be online newspapers, much like boston.com.

In other news, I was on the green line train on Friday that was in a “train accident”. I still cannot really tell you what happened, mostly because we were not even told by conducters what “happened.” all I know is that either we hit the train in front of us, or a train sideswiped us. It was one of the scariest moments I have even been involved with. People flew past me and tumbled down the stairs, causing them to hit their head, some seeking emergency assitance. The conductor did not let us out of the train for a good 15 minutes, not to mention that he did not even know where there was a first aid kit. We exited the train, but had to walk through the arlington-boyolston tunnel to get to the Boyolston T- station.
I ran to my 9:00 class at 9:15, only to get there and find that she had cancelled class.
What a morning.

Saturday was open house! It was crazy busy, but definately well organized and a success. It was a gloomy day, but we got past that pretty quickly. Tours went well, this year we were able to seperate groups into 30 or less, making it a better experience for everyone.
The ambassadors worked the event from about 9-330. I Had abreak untill about 4:30, and went into work at the restaurant until about 2:30 am. Needless to say by Sunday, I was exhausteddd.

Only a week and 3 days until thanksgiving break!! I’m real excited to be home with my whole family. I havn’t been with all of them in soooo long. When we get back from break, we have only a week of class, then Christmas break…then AUSTRALIAAAAAAA. okay but I’m getting ahead of myself. I still have to get through finals…
But they are coming up quick!

That’s it for now, i promise.
Haley

p.s here are some pics from Halloween I neglected to post at the time halloween actually happened…
<–My sister and I –
–> Miss Muffett, Female gangster, Risky Business, and Tomb Raider. (my roomates.)

One Response to “A Weekend of Events”

  1. Rachel November 17, 2008 at 4:35 pm #

    cute pics haybeee

Leave a Reply

