Sunburnt in January.

18 Jan

This past weekend, my roomate Alisha (she’s from New Jersey) and our new friend Matt, from somewhere in MA. much like many many other people on this study abroad adventure, (and here I thought I’d be the only one) and I went to this amusement park called Dreamworld. We went on roller coasters and got to hold Koala bears and feed Kangaroos. I even pet a Tiger!
We took the bus, like we do everywhere, which seems very similar to the T system we have, excpet above ground of course.

I started classes on Monday. They are set up different from at home. Every class has a lecture and a tutorial (Tuts). I have two 3 hr long classes back to back!!! I thought the 2 hour classes were bad. Its going to be tough to sit still for that long. Luckily, I only have class Mon and Tues, and one on wed morning.

I went surfing todayyy!! It was amazing. Well, it actually was so hard and frustrating, but amazing once I actually got up on the board. The beaches here are so different. The current is so strong and the waves just keep comin’. And they are about 20 feet high.

Being out at the beach all day gave me a pretty bad burn, even with sunscreen! The suns alot stronger here than at home.

My school offers classes at our gym which is pretty awesome. A bunch of us went to a kickboxing class last night, and it was probably one of the most painful experiences of my life. No lie. Our instructor was so hardcore and wouldn’t let us quit. Doing that once a week will definately whip me into shape.

Anyways, with the combination of the sun, surf, and sweat from kickboxing, I am exhausted. Bed time for me.

p.s. a few phrases I’ve learned here
Barbie= BBQ
Brekky= Breakfast
Toma(h)to sauce= ketchup
fairy floss=cotton candy…
and several others
i’ll keep ya posted! 🙂

Hay

2 Responses to “Sunburnt in January.”

  1. Colleen January 21, 2009 at 4:39 pm #

    Hi Haley! It looks like your trip is AMAZING! Seriously, studying abroad is something I wish I did… take advantage of it!Keep posting photos – it helps to get through these cold cold days in Boston:)

  2. Kristin January 22, 2009 at 12:09 pm #

    Haley! It looks like you’re having so much fun! The koala bear is wicked cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

