I wish we always had Wednesdays off

3 Feb

Yesterday ended up being a snow day for Boston. I was supposed to go into my internship at Cone, but the office was closed. I was able to get some work done from home, though I have to admit it is pretty hard to stay motivated to work when sitting on the couch in my PJs, with Facebook on one tab, and Ellen on TV.

I also discovered Facebook Scrabble, so that took up most of the day itself. I am always so,so busy throughout the week that when a day like yesterday came along, I had to take advantage of it. Rarely do I just get to sit inside and do nothing. It was great. After realizing I had absolutely no food, I went to the local market in the North End called The Golden Goose. This is where I get all of my groceries, since it is right behind my house. (And they do wine tastings on Fridays!)  I do wish that there were a Stop and Shop or Shaws closer though, because the Goose only offers one brand of everything, and so they can charge a lot for common groceries, since we pretty much have no choice. It’s better than trekking it all the way over to Whole Foods on Cambridge street, or Shaw’s on Boylston, though. But with large orders, Peapod is definitely the way to go. My room mate and I will wait until we can’t take it any longer and order a month’s worth of groceries from Shaw’s and get it delivered.

Anyways, I picked up ingredients to make up a new vegetarian chili recipe that my sister gave me, but I had to add-lib a bit. Pics to follow!

Vegetarian Chili

2 teaspoons vegetable oil

2 cups chopped green bell pepper

2 cups chopped red bell pepper

1 cup chopped onion

4 garlic cloves, pressed

1 tablespoon chili powder

3/4 teaspoon ground cumin

2 cans (14.5 ounces each) diced tomatoes, undrained

1 can (15.5 ounces) mild chili beans in sauce, undrained

1 can (15.5 ounces) pinto beans, drained and rinsed

1 can (15 ounces) black beans, drained and rinsed

1 can (7 ounces) whole kernel corn, drained

Toppings such as shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream and snipped fresh cilantro (optional)

1. Heat oil in Professional (4-qt.) Casserole over medium-high heat until hot. Add bell peppers, onion, garlic, chili powder and cumin; cook until vegetables are crisp-tender, about 5 minutes.

2. Add tomatoes, beans and corn to casserole; mix well. Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer, covered, 45 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Leave a Reply

