A Valentine’s Themed Post

15 Feb

Today is my favorite day of the year, February 15th. Not because I am one of those downers who hates Valentine’s Day and can’t wait for it to be over, (although I have to admit it is much more enjoyable when you do have a “significant other”) but because for the next 3 days CVS tries to get rid of the rest of all its Valentine’s themed candy in order to prepare for Easter. All chocolate gets marked down to 50-75 % off. It is amazing. Especially if you are a chocolate lover like myself. So even for those years where I didn’t have someone to celebrate with, (or even when I did) you can find me at CVS salivating in the chocolate isle come February 15th.

Although this year, I have to admit I have pretty much already had my chocolate  fix this week. Besides buying too many boxes of girl scout cookies from my supervisor’s daughter (Caramel delights, p.butter patties, and thin mints of course) my boyfriend surprised me on Sunday with this delicious bouquet of edible arrangements. (Chocolate covered fruit-shaped flowers tops real flowers any day.)

To avoid the crowds, we celebrated on Sunday with dinner at Mare in the North End. Our meals were absolutely delicious, and it was such a good idea to celebrate on the Sunday, instead of the Monday. The north end was mobbed on Monday, and reservations were booked up until 10pm that night. By going on Sunday we had the place to ourselves and were able to get full service attention for the night. I had the Zuppa de Mare and he had halibut. Both were gorgeously presented and tasted even better.

 

 

 

 

 

 

In addition to the Valentine’s day weekend theme, my sister came up to Boston so we could get in one of our longer runs to better prepare for the Boston Marathon, (which is now only 9ish weeks away) We managed to squeeze in 13 miles before I worked the information session at Suffolk on Saturday morning. Later that night we visited one of our favorite restaurants, Boston Beer Works. We love their monthly beer selections, since they are always changing what they brew. February happens to be Chocolate beer month, so we couldn’t help but indulge in  some February Chocolate and Espresso beer sampling.


All in all it was a great Valentine’s themed weekend.

On another note it’s time to kick training into gear to prepare for the Boston marathon, but I am finding it really hard to stay motivated knowing I don’t have an actual bib number. I am afraid that with so many people running this year, and registration closing so early, that the qualifying times are just going to get harder next year.  I have wanted to run this marathon since I started running, and I fear that if I don’t do it this year, number or not, then I never will. I also started thinking about signing up for the Rock N’ Roll half marathon in Providence in RI in August, but who knows where I will be by then with graduation and the job hunt!

3 Responses to “A Valentine’s Themed Post”

  1. marjorie February 15, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    I miss our feb15-17 jaunts to cvs, haley! that was “our special time”!!!

  2. Lauren Slayton February 16, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    You should come read out cocoa post today…Boston, that’s amazing- how are you running sans number? Great Sept Marathon in the Hamptons if you want another race after this one. Ah how I wish I was training and at the point where 13 was a piece of cake.

  3. Sara February 16, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    I love Mare! YUM!

Leave a Reply

