Low-Fat, Sugar-Free Banana Bread (And STILL delicious!)

14 Apr

I made this Sunday evening after a long day of Showcase and tours at Suffolk. I found two different recipes that I really liked, so I attempted to combine them. The recipes were adapted from Joy the Baker and Cooks.com

I may have made a few mistakes here and there, since I for some reason could not find any measuring cups in my apartment, so I had to guesstimate a few times. I also didn’t realize that it is not as easy to “wing it” with baking like it is with cooking. And no, baking powder and baking soda are NOT the same thing… apparently they are very different in fact…hmm that’s something they should teach you in school. I have to say baking is a lot more challenging than cooking if you are not following a recipe exactly… but I’ll do my best to give some measurements…


3 or 4 mashed bananas
1 tsp. sweetener
2 eggs*
1 3/4 c. sifted cake flour
3 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 c. chopped nuts
I also added:
about 1/4 cup of Splenda Brown Sugar
1/2 cup of Oats
Tsp cinnamon
*I substituted 4 egg whites for the 2 eggs
Sprinkle artificial sweetener over bananas and stir until dissolved. Beat eggs and blend into bananas. Sift dry ingredients, add nuts and blend with banana mixture. Pour into greased pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes, lower heat to 300 degrees and bake another 35 minutes or until done.

I would also add some more Splenda or brown sugar for the next time I made this- it just was not sweet enough for me.

My favorite way to eat it is heated up with some melted peanut butter, and/or with some made up oatmeal and fruit on the side, or some sugar free vanilla ice cream for dessert!

Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Low-Fat, Sugar-Free Banana Bread (And STILL delicious!)”

  1. Koryn April 14, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    Hey, when I was in gymnastics I used to make a healthy banana bread from my sports nutrition book all the time. You definitely have to give this recipe a try!

    3 large well-ripened bananas
    1 egg or 2 egg whites
    2 tablespoons oil, preferably canola
    1/3 cup milk
    1/3 to 1/2 cup sugar
    1 teaspoon salt
    1 teaspoon baking soda
    1/2 teaspoon baking powder
    1 1/2 cups flour, preferably half whole-wheat, half white
    Instructions
    1.Preheat the oven to 350°F.
    2.Mash bananas with a fork. Add egg, oil, milk, sugar. Beat well.
    3.Combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt and then add to the banana mixture. Stir just until moistened.
    4.Pour into a 4” x 8” loaf pan that has been lightly oiled, treated with cooking spray, or lined with wax paper. Bake 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted near the middle comes out clean.
    5.Let cool for 5 minutes before removing from the pan.

    It only has 135 calories a slice and is even better as a peanut butter sandwich 🙂

    • haley April 14, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      oh yum! Looks similar-
      i prefer sweetener to sugar though!
      but i like the idea of the whole wheat flour- ill have to try that next time
      Thanks!

  2. Recipe Chefs April 15, 2011 at 1:37 am #

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

Leave a Reply

